Graduation Announcements.

il_570xN.826275564_nonuI ordered my graduation announcements today. I have to say, hormones aside, seeing my name next to the title “Doctor” brought tears to my eyes. This has been such a long and difficult road. It’s been my dream since a little girl. And now it’s happening! It’s coming true! It is such a fantastic feeling knowing my hard work is paying off and I will finally have some recognition for it.

That said, I definitely could not have gotten to this point without all of the support, love, encouragement, constructive criticism, and validation of my faith, my family, my friends, and my husband. I’m not foolish enough to think I could’ve gotten here alone. It is only with the help of every one of the people who make up my support system that I’ve made it this far.

And I’m not finished yet! In July I start residency. I just submitted my rank list (the list of residency programs where I interviewed, in the order that I like them). It’s set in stone! No going back now! On February 8th (2 short weeks!) I find out where I matched! …And consequently where my husband & I will be moving in June, where our baby will grow up, and where I’ll begin my medical career. It’s all very exciting and seems to be happening quickly… though truthfully, I’ve been waiting for these moments since high school, when I set out on this medical journey.

And to be honest, Im terrified. I’ve been on a sort of “med school vacation” since interview season ended, and in July I’ll be expected to know what a doctor knows… because I will BE a doctor. I’ll be expected to write orders for nurses, PT’s, OT’s, SLP’s, techs, etc to follow. I’ll be responsible for tiny people’s lives! It isn’t without supervision, thankfully, but I am excited and thrilled and scared and nervous.

In the midst of all of this anticipation for the next big steps to happen (baby! move! career!), I’ve been trying to repeat to myself the verses in Ecclesiastes 3: there is a time for everything. Being anxious about the future isn’t going to change anything. And I should be enjoying every step of this crazy experience!

Leave a Reply

