November: The good.

image.jpeg

First off the Cubs won the World Series!! We hosted most of my family at my house for the last 3 games, which was exhausting after working 13 hour days, but was definitely worth it. I wouldn’t trade the memories of watching those games with my family for the world! My fellow residents didn’t act too annoyed when I wore a Cubs shirt to the hospital instead of scrubs, and they even put up with me watching the entire Chicago parade after the big win, with tears welling up in my eyes.

November was my first month of inpatient peds. “Inpatient”= in the hospital. I work on the general floor, so basically if your kiddo goes to the ER and gets admitted to the hospital, I take care of them. If they go to their doctor & their doctor admits them to the hospital, I take care of them. If they go to another hospital in Oklahoma that isn’t equipped to care for them, they’re transferred to our children’s hospital, and I take care of them. Let me start by saying there’s just something special about working with only girls. I spent my month with 2 other girl interns and 2 senior residents.

One of my senior residents is a sister for the Catholic church. Another intern & I spent the better part of our month together grilling her on how she became part of the convent at our hospital. I was completely fascinated by the ins and outs of her daily life. Her & I bonded over our shared love of Advent (she had no idea Methodists celebrate it too!) and our love of bacon cheeseburgers.

An intern I worked with in the hospital had a baby in August. Having 2 breastfeeding moms on inpatient service for the month presented itself as a unique challenge for our teams, but it worked out beautifully. Our program is super supportive & allowed us to get our perfect rotation system down. We alternated times & got to use the call room freezer for our stash, and even got to use a secret stowed-away hospital grade pump! Even though this was her second child, we bonded over having new babies at home and the joys/struggles of everyday life. She’s hilarious & speaks her mind about everything, and is addicted to coffee to a slightly greater degree than I am. We took daily coffee breaks together & giggled about entirely inappropriate things.

The other intern on with me for the month happened to be my “residency bestie.” For whatever reason we got super close and just kinda clicked from day one of orientation. We met last year during my peds audition/interview for this program, but didn’t keep in close touch for the rest of 4th year. Anyway, we take turns babysitting the other’s kid from time to time and spent the month of November mourning the election results, watching Finding Dory, fueling our coffee addictions (with the other girl too!), and had a great time being sassy together.

My other senior resident in November is the epitome of classy attitude. She always has a witty comeback & a fresh view on a situation. She talks to herself, making for a constant stream of “huh? Oh, you’re not talking to me” comments throughout the day. She also loves Adelaide and calls herself Adelaide’s bestie because she can always seem to get her to smile. We bonded over selfies, lack of sleep as the month dragged on, our slap-happy goofiness, & our love of bacon in the mornings. (Cheers to you, caramel surprise!)

Our night team was awesome too- an intern & a senior, both who came in fresh every night with new jokes when we had tough days and funny stories from their crazy night shifts when we came back each morning for sign out. They were hilarious to work with, too, and sign out often went late because we were all laughing about some crazy event that had happened.

Since Thanksgiving fell in November again this year (ha), we had holiday hours. My residency splits holidays awesomely- we either get a week off for Christmas or a week of for thanksgiving. It flips every year so it’s fair. The holiday week you work is split fairly so that everyone only works 4-ish shifts. So, instead of working Monday-Friday, I only had 4 shifts. On thanksgiving day, we wore turkey & pilgrim hats during rounds and the kids & families loved it. And because our patient list was so small on thanksgiving day, I got to go home early! (which is unheard of in most residency programs!) I got home in time to critique David’s cooking of the bird & add my 2¢ on how everything should be set up, and got to host a wonderful dinner with my family & in-laws.

Seriously, the residents I worked with in November were such a fun group of people to work 12-13 hour days. We were constantly laughing from sign out in the morning to sign out in the evening.

Our attendings were amazing too. One brought us peppernut cookies which were delicious. 2 others were cool enough to dress up for thanksgiving with the rest of us with our turkey hats & pilgrim hats. We were able to have 2 separate birthday parties for our attendings & sister. I made a funfetti cake & an apple pie cake (link: http://www.bakeyourday.net/apple-pie-layer-cake/). We decorated the call room with balloons & streamers two days in a row & everyone enjoyed the desserts I made! We also had a running list of hashtags/inside jokes such as #isabella #watchgameonfleek #icanteven and my personal favorite… #VSSAF. One of our attendings constantly used the phrase “struggle bus” and “womp womp” and “I can’t/I can’t even” which all quickly became part of my daily vocab. We had so many laugh-til-you-cry moments that I lost track!

Pediatricians have been accused of being the fluffiest and happiest of specialties which is mostly true- but my goodness, I challenge you to find a more sassy, aggressive-in-a-good-way, and sarcastic group of residents than the people in my program. I seriously doubt you can!  image

 

Leave a Reply

